Archive for November 12th, 2008

November 12, 2008

like a fairy tale

by letters2soulmate

Dear Soulmate,

I was recently asked by a fellow blogger what my definition of soulmate was. She said that she had fallen in love and had been hurt. Because of this she learned that in the real world those fairy tale romances don’t necessarily happen, and looking for a soulmate is too idealistic.

I agree that it is natural to feel this kind of doubt in real love after you’ve been hurt. I’ve been hurt once in my life. It is something I remember everyday, and it is something I think about every night.

It was the reason I started this blog.

You see, the point is not that you’ve been hurt or fell in love and it wasn’t all you dreamed about. It’s about trying again. It’s about seeing the world in a new way- learning from the past but moving on. It’s essentially the essence of what makes this life so beautiful, and in many ways as enchanting as a fairy tale.

But to answer her question, a soulmate is that real kind of love that you never fall out of. It is the kind my parents and grandparents have. Their love stories are equally fairy tales in their own way. It’s not a Hollywood movie where the two leading characters run into each others arms at the end. It’s life.

And that’s enchanting.

Love, R