Archive for November 3rd, 2008

November 3, 2008

the american president

by letters2soulmate

Dear Soulmate,

Already they have strung Christmas lights down on Boylston Street and the fewer daylight hours means they are well lit before 4 p.m. I feel that Christmas is the last thing on people’s minds as we near one of the most highly anticipated elections of our history. I am anxiously counting down the hours until I can cast my vote. Although you could be ocean’s away for all I truly know, I can bet that if you are an American, you will vote for the very candidate whose campaign sticker has been on display across the back of my laptop screen for several months.

Tomorrow marks so many beautiful changes. After all the ballot boxes have been cleared, and voters return home to turn on their TV’s, the pages of history books will be turned and new chapters will be written. And only after all the votes have been counted will the country hold its breath for that pivotal moment…

I wonder now, as I sit here and write to you, what does this change mean for you? I know it means more than simply falling leaves or that extra hour of sleep you enjoyed yesterday… you probably still have not yet set your clock back. It’s hard to imagine these things when I can never be sure, but in some undefined way I feel like so close to you right now, without even knowing your name.

And if I believe that the winds of change will promise good things tomorrow, it will bring me that much closer to you… and the election of a potentially wonderful new president.

In one of my top five favorite movies, Michael Douglas stars as “The American President,” and in one great speech that could only be written by Hollywood screenwriters, Douglas says, “America isn’t easy. America is advanced citizenship. You’ve got to want it bad, because it’s gonna put up a fight.”

No more than five minutes long, this scene has long been one of my favorites that has always evoked strong American sentiment. While viewers will widely agree the film is a romantic comedy with a political spin off, if they heard Obama’s speech at this years Democratic National Convention they certainly could have drawn parallels between the two speeches. After further researching the subject to see if anyone else picked up on this, sure enough Brian Williams had connected the two points.

More importantly though, Hollywood aside, it will be interesting to see who will win the starring role of tomorrow’s next great movie, “The American President: Part 44.” Perhaps tomorrow’s events will distract me from those eagerly placed Christmas lights that remind me that all the leaves have in fact fallen.

Love, R