Archive for December 13th, 2008

December 13, 2008

dreaming by the fire

by letters2soulmate

Dear Soulmate,

A glass of wine, a roaring fire and the glow of Christmas lights from the wreath hung above the mantle describes my  most ideal way to unwind on a cold Saturday night.

under the glow of the moon

under the glow of the moon

Truthfully,  I am still exhausted from such a long week. I am still keeping up with e-mails and such but I know that after I write to you that I will close my laptop and set it on the table, where it will hopefully remain in solitude for the next few hours- just like me.

I hope this evening finds you well. I am thinking of you, as always. You know those seemingly nagging people who always tell you that you can’t go back? They are almost as inescapable as those people from your past who you reconsider reuniting with just for the sake of being wanted or needed again.

I had a dream last night about a boy who I dated briefly during high school. I have not thought about him in years, but I do remember how well he treated me. I cannot recall what went wrong, or what prompted our time to end.

If you believe that everything happens for a reason then you have probably saved yourself from otherwise agonizing hours of analyzing all the avenues of “what -ifs” and “what could have beens.”

For now though, to spare myself of the complications of opening up my high school yearbook and turning the pages of time, I will simply sit here and long for you.

If you were here, I would tell you to put another log on the fire and pour yourself a glass of wine.

Outside the glow of the waning full moon would fall across the staircase, leading us from the warmth of the fire elsewhere.

All my love, R