Archive for December 8th, 2008

December 8, 2008

you’re hot then you’re cold

by letters2soulmate

Dear Soulmate,

You know that summer is officially over when your iced coffee freezes after a brisk five minute walk outside.

In effort to keep some traditions of this sunny season alive, I still wear flip flops around the house just to hear that familiar and comforting rhythm of summer tapping against my heels with every step. I’ve been known to flip open the cap of an old tube of last summer’s sunblock just to be reminded of that summer scent.

Why, you may ask, do I live in Boston then?

My life is very much a contradiction in the same way that you may hate to love love or love to hate love.

I love the summer but not in Boston. I love Boston but I don’t like the winter. I drink iced coffee all year although my hands are always cold- even in the summer. I have never dated nor been in a relationship but I have been in love.

Call them lovers, if you will.

Seeing as my generation is going through a phase where people are more inclined to “hook-up” with one another than be asked out to dinner and a movie, I do not see my lack of being in a serious relationship as excluding me from the dating scene. Welcome all to Gen-Y dating- hook-up first, date later… that is- if you pass the hook-up test first.

If I sound less enthused by the hook-up culture, understand that I am simply trying to make sense of it.

Life is full of contradictions- but should love be?

Stay warm, R