first love

by letters2soulmate

Dear Soulmate,

Summer has always been my season. As I sit here and write to you I can feel the morning sun pour through my window, begging me to come outside.

Summer also reminds me of young summer love- the invincibly, passionate and naive kind that makes you believe anything is possible. I was talking with a friend at the beach the other day about how first loves have a way of making other relationships less glamorous.

And I won’t deny that after things ended on rough terms with my first love, it was natural for me to feel somewhat jaded and cynical about love. I realize though that it was unfair for me to assume that all love can be that dreamlike. and without any consequences.

But when you combine your first love with summer love, your expectations for future relationships will most likely result in disappointment.

I have yet to look out to the ocean without thinking of him. Most everything I do in the summer reminds me of him, of us.

And if you knew just how it felt to sneak out of the house to meet someone you were crazy for down at a dock lit by the full moonlight… then you would know the whole story.

Love, R

p.s. share your summer love story!

Leave a comment